Nimrod Sessions


March 31, 1997 – July, 1997


Conway Recording Studios (Los Angeles, CA)


Billie Joe – Vocals, Guitar, Harmonica
Mike Dirnt – Bass, Vocals, Baseball Bat
Tre Cool – Drums, vocals, bongos, tambourine
Petra Haden – Violin
Gabrial McNair – Horns
Stephen Bradley – Horns


Producer: Green Day & Rob Cavallo
Engineer: Ken Allardyce
Mixing: Chris Lorde-Alge


Key: [O] Officially released | [U] Unofficially released | [X] Unreleased

[O] Nice Guys Finish Last
[O] Hitchin’ A Ride
[O] The Grouch [working title was ‘Happy Grouch’]
[O] Redundant
[O] Scattered
[O] All The Time
[O] Worry Rock
[O] Platypus (I Hate You)
[O] Uptight
[O] Last Ride In
[O] Jinx
[O] Haushinka
[O] Walking Alone
[O] Reject
[O] Take Back
[O] King For A Day
[O] Good Riddance (Time Of Your Life)
[O] Prosthetic Head
[X] Alfred E. Normal
[X] 19th Nervous Breakdown [Rolling Stones cover]
[O] Espionage
[X] Slow
[X] Ugly Day
[O] Suffocate
[X] You Irritate Me
[X] Idiot
[O] Desensitized
[X] Tony The Tiger [Commercial song cover]
[X] Allison [Elvis Costello cover]
[O] Sick Of Me *

* Released as a b-side on the Hitchin’ A Ride single but it’s currently unknown if it was part of these sessions.


Early demo versions of several tracks (including a few previously unheard songs) were released on the Nimrod XXV anniversary box set.

Sources & Credits